INSTITUTE
OF MACROMOLECULAR
COMPOUNDS
RUSSIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCES
ИВС

IMC HISTORY

Institute of Macromolecular Compounds was founded in 1948 by the decree of the Presidium of the Academy of Sciences of the Soviet Union dated July 15 1948, in accordance with the decree of Council of Ministers of the USSR № 2411-737 dated July 7 1947.

The founder and the first director was an outstanding Russian scientist, corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR professor Sergey Nikolaevich Ushakov. Prominent Leningrad scientists, experts in polymer chemistry and physics (P.P. Kobeko, S.E. Bresler, M.M. Koton, M.V. Volkenstein, V.N. Tsvetkov, A.A. Vansheidt, N.I. Nikitin, S.N. Danilov, and A.A. Korotkov) led research work in the key areas of polymer science.

S.N. Ushakov developed the principles of applying synthetic polymers in creation of medicinal preparations. M.V. Volkenstein, O.B. Ptitsyn, and T.M. Birshtein developed the rotational isomerism theory. Dynamic behavior of macromolecules was studied by M.V. Volkenstein and Yu.Ya. Gotlib. S.N. Danilov and N.I. Nikitin carried out systematical studies of natural polysaccharides and proposed new synthetic methods for polysaccharide derivatives. The leading researchers developed scientific basis of synthesis of stereoregular polymers by ionic polymerization (B.A. Dolgoplosk, A.A. Korotkov, B.L. Erusalimskii) and synthesis of highly thermostable polymers (polyheteroarylenes) by polycondensation (M.M. Koton). The fundamentals of hydrodynamic, dynamo-optical, electro-optical methods, and polarized luminescence were established and applied to investigations of polymer solutions; flexible-chain, rigid-chain, and mesogenic polymers were systematically studied at the molecular and supramolecular levels (V.N. Tsvetkov, V.E. Eskin, S.S. Skorokhodov, E.V. Anufrieva, M.G. Krakovyak). Theory and methods of liquid chromatography of polymers were developed (B.G. Belenkii). The basics of ion-exchange chromatography of biologically active substances on polymeric sorbents were proposed (G.V. Samsonov). The unique methods were developed that allow to investigate electrical and mechanical properties of polymer microsamples (P.P. Kobeko, G.P. Mikhailov, E.V. Kuvshinskii, M.I. Bessonov, T.I. Borisova). Advances in NMR, IR, and Raman spectroscopy gave rise to a new scientific area – spectroscopy of polymers (V.N. Nikitin, A.I. Kol’tsov, B.Z. Volchek). The theory of orientational crystallization was developed and used as a basis for practical methods of strengthening fibers and films (S.Ya. Frenkel, V.G. Baranov). Organic glasses and special types of glass for supersonic aircrafts were created (I.A. Arbuzova, D.N. Andreev, E.N. Rostovskii).

Scientific schools founded by corresponding members of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR S.N. Ushakov (synthesis of hydrophilic medicinal polymers), M.M. Koton and V.N. Tsvetkov (chemistry and physics of rigid-chain polymers) are still successfully working. Their disciples (E.F. Panarin, V.V. Kudriavtsev, B.A. Zaitsev, G.K. Elyashevich, Yu.N. Sazanov, A.A. Darinskii) and a new generation of scientists (V.M. Svetlichnii, A.M. Bochek, V.E. Yudin, A.V. Yakimanskii, A.V. Tenkovtsev, A.P. Filippov, V.D. Krasikov, A.A. Gurtovenko) develop modern scientific theories. Corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Deputy President of the Russian Academy of Sciences S.V. Lyulin superintends development of a modern scientific area: computer simulations of polymer systems.

Principal scientific achievements and practical results:

  • The complete concept of the synthesis of linear thermotropic liquid-crystalline polymers has been developed.

  • The detailed picture of the behavior of mesogenic rigid-chain polymers in solution has been established; magneto- and electro-optical effects in the liquid-crystalline state have been investigated.

  • Structural research of thermotropic mesophases by spectroscopic, dielectric, mechanical, and other methods has been carried out.

  • The statistical theory of random coil-globule transition in solutions of linear, star-branched, and grafted polymers on matrices with different geometries has been developed. The theory of colloids’ stabilization by grafted polymer chains has been established. Using this theoretical basis, the scientific concepts of graft and linear water-soluble super-high molecular weight polymers and copolymers have been developed.

  • The main features of the structure and properties of super-high molecular weight polymers have been established by optical and hydrodynamic methods. On the basis of fundamental research, methods of synthesis have been developed; highly effective flocculants (ACROMIDAN) and intensifiers of cooling processes have been produced.

  • The study of polymer carriers of biologically active compounds allowed the detection of biological activity of some polymers. On their basis a number of medical preparations have been developed. Antiseptic preparations (CATAPOL, POVIARGOL) and a growth stimulating agent DOXANE have been developed and are being manufactured on industrial and pilot-plant scale. Clinical tests of an antitumoral drug, POGLUCAR, have been completed.

  • A plasma substitute POLYOXYDINE and an oxygen transporting blood substitute GELENPOL have been developed on the basis of synthetic water-soluble polymers and modified proteins.

  • The original technology for obtaining highly purified INSULIN has been developed on the basis of theoretical and experimental investigations of the interaction between organic ions and crosslinked polyelectrolytes. This technology has been implemented in industry.

  • A new concept of the synthesis of different classes of thermally stable, chemically resistant and other thermosetting polymers was developed. It is based on introducing a number of functional groups in acid-catalyzed reactions. In the first stage, monomer-oligomer systems (ROLIVSANS) are obtained and then (after their cure) crosslinked polymers are produced. As a result, a set of polymers and composite materials (thermostable dielectric compounds, binders, adhesives, coatings, composites) with a valuable combination of properties have been synthesized.

  • An alternative method of polyimide synthesis via acid esters of tetracarboxylic acids has been proposed. The reaction mechanism has been studied, the conditions of obtaining highly thermostable engineering plastics reinforced with carbon have been optimized.

  • Super light flame resistant polyimide foams and foam composites for thermal and electrical insulation have been developed.

  • A fundamentally novel method of substances’ separation by high-performance membrane chromatography has been developed jointly with the Institute of Macromolecular Chemistry of Czech Academy of Sciences. Special membranes for analytical purposes have been developed. This method has been introduced into practice.

  • High performance polymer pervaporation membranes for separating mixtures of polar and nonpolar organic liquids have been developed.

  • Microporous highly permeable polyethylene membranes have been obtained. The investigation of conducting polymer layers on the surface of these polyethylene films with the aim of developing new composite membranes for ion exchange has been carried out.

  • Methods of quantitative thin-layer chromatography have been developed.

Institute of Macromolecular Compounds today

Main activities:

Fundamental and applied research and developments in the areas of polymer, organic, physical, bio-organic chemistry, experimental and theoretical physics of macromolecular compounds.

Areas of research:

  • Chemistry of macromolecular compounds, studies of mechanisms and regularities of polymer formation, chemical and structural transformations in macromolecules;

  • Development of principles of creation of functional polymer materials, including high-strength and highly thermostable structural materials and nanocomposites;

  • Theoretical and experimental physics and mechanics of polymers, computer simulations of complex macromolecular systems;

  • Development of fundamentals of synthesis of a new generation biologically active polymers; controlled modification of medicinal and biologically active substances with natural and synthetic polymers for the purpose of using them in medicine, bioengineering, and biotechnology.

The main reference group: «Physical chemistry, chemical physics, polymers»

Presentation

Institute of Macromolecular Compounds: past and present

Mikhail Vladimirovich Volkenstein

Reminiscences of colleagues and disciples.

To the 100th anniversary of birthday.

ИНСТИТУТ
ВЫСОКОМОЛЕКУЛЯРНЫХ
СОЕДИНЕНИЙ
РОССИЙСКОЙ АКАДЕМИИ НАУК
ИВС

ИСТОРИЯ ИВС РАН

Институт высокомолекулярных соединений создан в 1948 году на основании Постановления Президиума АН СССР от 15 июля 1948 года в соответствии с Постановлением Совета Министров СССР № 2411-737 от 07.07.1947 года. Основателем и первым директором института был известный ученый, член-корреспондент АН СССР, профессор Сергей Николаевич Ушаков. Ведущие ленинградские ученые в области химии и физики высокомолекулярных соединений, такие как П.П. Кобеко, С.Е. Бреслер, М.М. Котон, М.В. Волькенштейн, В.Н. Цветков, А.А. Ваншейдт, Н.И. Никитин, С.Н. Данилов и А.А. Коротков возглавили исследования ключевых проблем науки о полимерах. 

Так, С.Н. Ушаковым разработаны принципы использования синтетических полимеров для создания лекарственных веществ. М.В. Волькенштейном, О.Б. Птицыным и Т.М. Бирштейн создана теория поворотной изомерии. Теория динамического поведения макромолекул разработана М.В. Волькенштейном и Ю.Я. Готлибом. На основе результатов систематического изучения природных полисахаридов С.Н. Даниловым и Н.И. Никитиным были предложены новые методы получения их производных. Разработаны научные основы синтеза стереорегулярных полимеров с использованием ионной полимеризации (Б.А. Долгоплоск, А.А. Коротков, Б.Л. Ерусалимский), а также высокотермостойких полимеров – полигетероариленов с использованием методов поликонденсации (М.М. Котон). Разработаны основы исследования растворов полимеров методами молекулярной гидродинамики, динамо- и электрооптики, а также поляризованной люминесценции; систематически изучен класс гибко- и жесткоцепных, а также мезогенных полимеров на молекулярном и надмолекулярном уровнях (В.Н. Цветков, В.Е. Эскин, С.С. Скороходов, Е.В. Ануфриева, М.Г. Краковяк). Развита теория и методы жидкостной хроматографии полимеров (Б.Г. Беленький). Разработаны основы ионообменной хроматографии биологически активных веществ на полимерных сорбентах (Г.В. Самсонов). Созданы уникальные методики изучения электрических и механических свойств полимеров на микрообразцах (П.П. Кобеко, Г.П. Михайлов Е.В. Кувшинский, М.И. Бессонов, Т.И. Борисова). Развитие методов ЯМР-, ИК- и Раман-спектроскопии привело к возникновению нового самостоятельного раздела науки – спектроскопии полимеров (В.Н. Никитин, А.И. Кольцов, Б.З. Волчек). Разработана теория ориентационной кристаллизации и на ее основе созданы практические способы упрочнения волокон и пленок (С.Я. Френкель, В.Г. Баранов). Созданы органические и специальные стекла для сверхзвуковой авиации (И.А. Арбузова, Д.Н. Андреев, Е.Н. Ростовский).

В настоящее время успешно работают научные школы член-корреспондентов РАН С.Н. Ушакова – по исследованию синтеза гидрофильных лекарственных полимеров, М.М. Котона и В.Н. Цветкова – по химии и физике жесткоцепных полимеров. Современные научные идеи развивают их ученики (Е.Ф. Панарин, В.В. Кудрявцев, Г.П. Власов, Б.А. Зайцев, Г.К. Ельяшевич, Ю.Н. Сазанов, А.А. Даринский) и новое поколение докторов наук (В.М. Светличный, В.Е. Шаманин, А.М. Бочек, В.Е. Юдин, С.В. Буров, В.Д. Паутов, А.В. Якиманский, А.В. Теньковцев, Т.Б. Тенникова, А.П. Филиппов, Т.Е. Суханова, В.Д. Красиков, А.А. Гуртовенко и др.). 

Под руководством директора ИВС РАН, д.ф.-м.н., профессора РАН С.В. Люлина интенсивно развивается современное направление исследований: компьютерное моделирование полимерных систем.

 Основные научные достижения и практические результаты:

• Создана целостная концепция синтеза линейных термотропных жидкокристаллических полимеров.

• Установлена детальная картина поведения мезогенных жесткоцепных полимеров в растворе, магнито- и электрооптических эффектов в жидкокристаллическом состоянии.

• Выполнен комплекс структурных исследований термотропных мезофаз  спектроскопическим, диэлектрическим, механическим и другими методами.

• Развита статистическая теория перехода клубок-глобула в растворах линейных, звездообразных и привитых полимеров на матрицы различной геометрии, и на ее основе развита теория стабилизации коллоидов привитыми полимерными цепями. На этой теоретической базе разработаны научные основы привитых и линейных водорастворимых сверхвысокомолекулярных полимеров и сополимеров.

• Установлены особенности структуры и свойств сверхвысокомолекулярных полимеров оптическими и гидродинамическими методами. На основе проведенных фундаментальных исследований разработаны приемы синтеза и созданы высокоэффективные флокулянты (например, АКРОМИДАН ЛК) и интенсификаторы процессов охлаждения.

• Изучение полимерных носителей биологически активных соединений позволило определить биологическую активность  ряда полимеров. На их основе был разработан ряд медицинских препаратов. Например, разработаны и выпускаются в промышленном и опытном масштабе антисептические препараты КАТАПОЛ, ПОВИАРГОЛ и стимулятор роста ДОКСАН. Завершены клинические испытания противоракового препарата ПОГЛЮКАР.

• Разработаны плазмозаменитель ПОЛИОКСИДИН и кислородпереносящий кровезаменитель ГЕЛЕНПОЛ на основе водорастворимых полимеров и модифицированных протеинов.

• На базе теоретического и экспериментального исследования взаимодействия органических ионов со сшитыми полиэлектролитами создана оригинальная технология получения высокоочищенного ИНСУЛИНА, которая реализована на производстве.

• Разработана новая концепция синтеза различных классов термо и химически стойких, а также некоторых других термореактивных полимеров. Она основана на введении ряда функциональных групп в катализируемые кислотами реакции. На первой стадии получаются мономерно-олигомерные системы (названные РОЛИВСАНАМИ), затем (после их отверждения) сшитые полимеры. В результате, синтезирована серия полимеров и разработаны композитные материалы на их основе (термостойкие диэлектрики, связующие, покрытия и композиты) с ценным комплексом свойств.

• Предложен новый метод синтеза полиимидов  с применением кислых эфиров тетракарбоновых кислот. Исследован механизм реакции и на его основе оптимизированы условия получения высокотермостойких композиционных материалов, армированных   углеродными     волокнами.

• Разработаны суперлегкие огнестойкие полиимидные пены и пенокомпозиты для термо и электроизоляции.

• Разработан новый метод разделения веществ с помощью высокоэффективной мембранной хроматографии совместно с Институтом  макромолекулярной химии Чешской Академии Наук (Прага). Также разработаны специальные мембраны для аналитических   целей.   Этот   метод   внедрен   в   практику.

• Разработаны высокоэффективные первапорационные мембраны для разделения смесей полярных и неполярных органических   жидкостей.

• Получены микропористые высокопроницаемые полиэтиленовые мембраны. Исследованы проводящие полимерные слои на поверхности этих полиэтиленовых пленок с целью разработки новых композиционных мембран для ионного обмена.

• Разработаны методы количественной тонкослойной хроматографи

СОВРЕМЕННЫЙ ИВС РАН

Основной вид деятельности:

Фундаментальные и прикладные научные исследования и разработки в области полимерной, органической, физической, биоорганической химии, экспериментальной и теоретической физики высокомолекулярных соединений. 

Направления деятельности:

  • химия высокомолекулярных соединений, изучение закономерностей образования, химических и структурных превращений высокомолекулярных соединений;
  • разработка принципов создания функциональных полимерных материалов, в том числе высокопрочных и высокотермостойких конструкционных материалов, а также нанокомпозитов;
  • теоретическая и экспериментальная физика и механика полимеров, компьютерное моделирование сложных макромолекулярных систем;
  • разработка научных основ синтеза нового поколения биоактивных полимеров; направленная модификация природными и синтетическими высокомолекулярными соединениями лекарственных и биологически активных веществ для их применения в медицине, биоинженерии и биотехнологии

Основная референтная группа: «Физическая химия, химическая физика, полимеры»

 

ПРЕЗЕНТАЦИЯ

ИВС — история и современность

 

Михаил Владимирович Волькенштейн

Воспоминания коллег и учеников.

К 100-летию со дня рождения.